Skip to main content
2022-23 Wood Design & Building Awards Event Banner
* indicates a required field

Wood Design & Building Awards

We are pleased to open our Call for Entries and invite North American and International submissions to the 2022-23 Wood Design and Building Awards program recognizing excellence in wood architecture.

Entries should showcase the use of wood products in any, or several, of their many forms and applications. Entries should also demonstrate an understanding of the special properties of wood including strength, durability, beauty, and cost-effectiveness.

Any project completed between January 1st, 2019 and December 30th, 2022 is eligible for entry [except previous winning projects of the Wood Design & Building Awards].

A jury of prominent architects from Canada and the U.S. will review all entries based on considerations such as creativity, appropriate use of wood materials, satisfying clients’ requirements, meeting specific building and site requirements, and innovative design.

Honor, Merit, and Citation awards will be given at the discretion of the jury. Winning projects will be showcased in the 2022-23 Celebrating Excellence in Wood Architecture book, a video available on our websites, and in presentations at educational events throughout the year. Winning projects will also be featured in the summer edition of the Wood Design & Building magazine and promoted in press releases and on social media. Award certificates and a copy of the book will be distributed to the winners in the fall of 2023.

Projects can be submitted in the following categories:

Category 1
The Non-residential Category includes offices, shopping centers, restaurants, stores, churches, motels, hotels, schools, libraries, recreational buildings, fire halls, medical clinics, hospitals, storage facilities, research laboratories, factories and warehouses.

Category 2
The Residential Category includes single-family detached dwellings and multi-family projects such as duplexes, garden homes, apartments, condominiums, dormitories, affordable housing and seniors’ residences.

Category 3
Architectural Interiors
The Architectural Interior Design Category includes the significant use of wood finishing in any type of building interior.

Category 4
The Remodeled Buildings Category may involve modifications to the building exterior, interior or both. Kitchen and bathroom modifications alone are not eligible, nor are single room improvements that do not include structural changes. Landscaping projects and other outdoor works are eligible, however, the use of wood should have architectural merit.

Category 5
International Building
The International Building Category includes buildings of every type that were constructed outside of North America.

Category 6
Other – Exterior Structures, Bridges etc.

Sponsorship Awards
All submitted projects will automatically be considered, where applicable, for Special Awards: the SFI Sponsorship Award, Sansin Award, Wood Preservation Canada (WPC) Sponsorship Award, the Canadian Wood Council Award and Wood WORKS! Awards.

Upload Image

Early Bird Entry Fees (applicable until Dec. 1, 2022):
  • First Entry - $150.00 USD
  • Subsequent Entries - $140.00 USD

  • Regular Entry Fees:
  • First Entry - $175.00 USD
  • Subsequent Entries - $165.00 USD

  • Deadline to Submit: January 20, 2023 at midnight PST

    Please note that you can start your submission and come back to edit or update it at any point before the submission deadline.

    Note: Projects whose main structural components use treelike tropical/semitropical grasses such as bamboo are not eligible for submission.

    Log in to the Abstract ScoreCard

    Questions? Contact: Ioana Lazea -