Skip to main content
2022-23 Wood Design & Building Awards Event Banner
* indicates a required field

Wood Design & Building Awards

The Wood Design & Building Awards program invites North American and International entries for 2021-22 - honouring excellence in wood architecture.

Entries should consist of building projects that show a wide range of wood product applications and demonstrate an understanding of the special qualities of wood, such as strength, durability, beauty and cost-effectiveness.

All projects completed in the period between January 1st, 2018 and December 30th, 2021 are eligible for entry [except previous winning projects of the Wood Design & Building Awards].

A jury of prominent architects from Canada and the U.S. will review all entries based on various considerations such as creativity, appropriate use of wood materials in satisfying clients’ building and site requirements and innovative design.

Honor, Merit and Citation awards will be given at the discretion of the jury. Winning projects will be showcased in the 2021-22 Celebrating Excellence in Wood Architecture book, an award video available on our websites and presented at education events throughout the year. They’ll also be featured in the spring/summer edition of the Wood Design & Building magazine and via press releases and social media. Award certificates and one copy of the book will be distributed in the fall of 2022 to the winners.

Projects can be submitted in the following categories:

Category 1
The Non-residential Category includes offices, shopping centers, restaurants, stores, churches, motels, hotels, schools, libraries, recreational buildings, fire halls, medical clinics, hospitals, storage facilities, research laboratories, factories and warehouses.

Category 2
The Residential Category includes single-family detached dwellings and multi-family projects such as duplexes, garden homes, apartments, condominiums, dormitories, low-cost housing and seniors’ residences.

Category 3
Architectural Interiors
The Architectural Interior Design Category includes the significant use of wood finishing in any type of building interior.

Category 4
The Remodeled Buildings Category may involve modifications to the building exterior, interior or both. Kitchen and bathroom modifications alone are not eligible, nor are single room improvements that do not include structural changes. Landscaping projects and other outdoor works are eligible, however, the use of wood should have architectural merit.

Category 5
International Building
The International Building Category includes all buildings both non-residential and residential that were built outside of North America.

Category 6
Other – Exterior Structures, Bridges etc.

Sponsorship Awards
All submitted projects will automatically be considered, where applicable, for Special Awards: the SFI Sponsorship Award, Sansin Award, Wood Preservation Canada (WPC) Sponsorship Award, the Canadian Wood Council Award and Wood WORKS! Awards.

Upload Image

Early Bird Entry Fees ( applicable until Nov.30, 2021):
  • First Entry - $150.00 USD
  • Subsequent Entries - $140.00 USD

  • Regular Entry Fees:
  • First Entry - $175.00 USD
  • Subsequent Entries - $165.00 USD

  • Deadline to Submit: January 14, 2022 at midnight PST

    Please note that you can start your submission and come back to edit or update it before the deadline date.

    Note: Projects whose main structural components use treelike tropical/semitropical grasses such as bamboo are not eligible for submission.

    Log in to the Abstract ScoreCard

    Questions? Contact: Ioana Lazea -